Jump to the main content block

History and Milestones


Department of Physiology and Pharmacology was founded in 1987, when the two disciplines were established and run individually as separate departments at Chang Gung Medical College, the predecessor of Chang Gung University. In 1993, the graduate program of Basic Medicine started and faculty of both disciplines jointly help developed and offered related courses. Starting 1998 academic year, due to the need of curriculum and research integration, both disciplines merged to from the current department but basically remained original curricular settings. Since 2001 academic year, the graduate program of Basic Medicine have been operated in three groups: physiology and pharmacology, biochemical and molecular cell biology, and microbiology. Faculty from the department are mainly responsible for offering physiology- and pharmacology-related courses for under and graduate students, and serve as thesis advisors for the doctoral students, as well.

Milestones and Important Events

1. Department of Physiology was established in 1987 and the first Chairman was Prof. Ying-Tung Lau. The faculty and when they joined the department are: Prof. Ying-Tung Lau, Oct. 1987; Prof. Jan-Kan Chen, Jul. 1989; Prof. Hung-Li Wang, Jan. 1992; Prof. Rong-Chi Huang, May 1994; Prof. Shyi-Wu Wang, Aug. 1994; Prof. Shu-Ling Liang, Feb. 2009; Prof. Juu-Chin Lu, Feb. 2009; Ms. Chia-Yu Hsu, Aug. 2007.

2. Department of Pharmacology was established in 1987 and the first Chairman was Prof. Song-Yong Hsu, succeeded by Prof. Chuen-Mao Yang in Sep. 1989. The faculty and when they joined the department are: Prof. Chuen-Mao Yang, Jan. 1988; Prof. Yi-Ming Wong, Apr. 1989; Prof. Jin-Chung Chen, Jul. 1993; Prof. Yunn-Hwa Ma, Dec. 1998; Porf. Mei-Jie Jou, Jul. 1999; Prof. Chung-Pu Wu, Feb. 2010; Ms. Pei-Jung Lin, Sep. 1988.

3. Departments of Physiology and Pharmacology were merged as Department of Physiology and Pharmacology in 1998. The departmental chairmen were/are Prof. Ying-Tung Lau (1998-2003), Prof. Jin-Chung Chen (2003-2008), and Prof. Hung-Li Wang (2008-present).

4. Prof. Ying-Tung Lau served as the Dean of General Affairs and the Chairman of Facility Budget Committee from 1990 to 1999. He have been serving as the University Faculty Committee since 1989. He was on the Evaluation Committee for the Department of Medicine in 1998, and was assigned as the Associate Dean of the College of Medicine and as the Chairman of Department of Life Science in 2003. Prof. Lau was elected as the Director of “Chinese Physiology Society” in 2004. Since 2008, he has assumed the President of Chang Gung University of Technology.

5. Prof. Jan-Kan Chen served as the Director of General Education Center from 1991 to 2001. He assumed the Dean of Student Affairs from Dec. 1992 to Jul. 2000, the Dean of Academic Affairs since Aug. 2000, and Vice President since 2009.

6. Prof. Chuen-Mao Yang has served as the Director of graduate program of Natural Products since Aug. 2002.

7. Prof. Yi-Ming Wong assumed the Director of Research Affairs Center and the Dean of the restructured Office of Research Development. He is currently the Honorary Professor of the Graduate Institute of Biomedicine.

8. Nov. 17th-18th, 1995: Prof. Lau coordinated the “Ischemia: Septicemia and Shock Workshop” jointly sponsored by Chang Gung Memorial Hospital and National Science Council (Life Science Research Promotion Center). Venue: 2nd Conference room of Lin Kou Medical Center.

9. Feb. 25th-26th, 2000: Prof. Lau organized “New thinking in medical education: Physiology and Pharmacology Program Improvement Seminar.” Venue: Chang Gung University.

10. The Department is in charge of PBL-based curricular planning and compilation for the Department of Medicine and Department of Chinese Medicine in 2002, 2003, and 2005. In 2004, Problem-based Learning (PBL) course from various departments were merged into integrated PBL lectures and have been designated as required courses since in the second semester of the fourth year of both departments of Medicine and Chinese Medicine. Beginning in 2002, in response to recognize the reorganization and strengthening of the curricula in College of Medicine, the Physiology and Pharmacology Labs for the Executive Graduate Program in Nursing were stopped, and the corresponding hours for the departments of Medicine and Nursing were shortened.

Click Num: